Introduction to Development & Realisation

Alright so, one of the assignments for this new unit is to create a digital A2 Poster. Sounds easy? Nah, I have got to create a poster based on a subject and represent it through solely visual aspects. It actually sounds like a lot of fun. Throughout the six week unit, I will be researching and developing my ideas to create the poster and I will be using Adobe Illustrator to produce it (side note: I like illustrator and vectors are my jam).

In terms of the topic I’ll be basing my poster on, the question Where have you been and when? has really stuck out to me, simply because of how in depth I can go with it. The question is quite vague therefore I can choose to display the countries I have visited (side note 2: I haven’t travelled a whole lot so this would be quite a bland project) or where I have visited in Europe (side note 3: this makes much more sense to do seeing as I’ve explored more of Europe than anywhere else) or even my home town of London (side note 4: now that would be sick).

I came across this video which speaks about data visualisation in relation to design and how the user interacts with it. The video also touched upon the roots of map making and how the first instances of maps began with cartography whereby maps used to be scratched into stone.

Infographics were also mentioned, this is the visual representation of data to allow the user to view the information with ease. The following are some creative examples of infographics I have found. Even though they are text based and the brief says to use visual means, it is interesting to see how the designers have utilised colour and form to represent data.

love mapaboHistory of life R0ee3dad2d6a80949d9dafd29f350b283

Leave a Reply

